East Asia

Scroll down to see detailed maps of China and Saipan (Marianas Islands) East Asia

Marianas Islands

Saipan, Tinian and Guam were part of a chain of 13 islands, all occupied by Japan, called the Marianas. Guam had been an American possession until 1942, when it was taken and occupied by Japan at the beginning of the war.